Station Q Copenhagen: Center for Quantum Devices, Niels Bohr Institute

Established by the Danish National Research Foundation (DNRF), the Center for Quantum Devices opened June 1, 2012 in the H.C. Ørsted Institute, bldg. 3, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen. This building is also home to the Nano-Science Center. In the center, we focus on two systems with topological quasiparticles, namely fractional quantum Hall effect and hybrid superconductor-semiconductor heterostructures, designed to support Majorana Fermions.

In recent years it has been realized that one can design materials with induced p-wave superconducting order. This exotic superconducting state with broken time-reversal is known to have localized Majorana Fermions as end states, and it is in fact another realization of the same physics as in the 5/2 fractional quantum Hall states. The notion of Majorana Fermions makes an interesting connection to particle physics, where there is a long-standing debate whether such particles, being their own antiparticles, can exist. The quantum states of a Majorana particles, represented by the parity of fermion number, is topologically protected and therefore potentially useful for quantum computation purposes.

In the center we investigate designs of strong spin-orbit materials in the form of semiconducting nanowires or heterostructures connected to conventional superconductors, with the aim of controlling and studying the properties of Majorana fermions. For the manipulation of their quantum state, we investigate the possibility of interfacing with “conventional” mesoscopic quantum systems, such as quantum dots.

Official website

Our location

loading map - please wait...

  55.701365, 12.560670

Located in Copenhagen, Denmark

Career opportunities

Meet our team

Charles Marcus
Charles MarcusCondensed Matter Physics
Karsten Flensberg
Karsten FlensbergCondensed Matter Physics
Martin Leijnse
Martin LeijnseCondensed Matter Physics
Jukka Pekola
Jukka PekolaCondensed Matter Physics
Josh Folk
Josh Folk Condensed Matter Physics
Ferdinand Kuemmeth
Ferdinand KuemmethCondensed Matter Physics
Peter Krogstrup
Peter KrogstrupCondensed Matter Physics
Hung Nguyen
Hung NguyenCondensed Matter Physics
Fabrizio Nichele
Fabrizio NicheleCondensed Matter Physics
Karl Peterson
Karl Peterson Condensed Matter Physics